News Archives


WNCC Students, Faculty, Staff Honored at Awards Ceremony

April 30, 2018
Western Nebraska Community College presented 37 awards to 51 recipients at its annual Scottsbluff Campus awards ceremony on Thursday, April 26. WNCC is pleased to announce the following students, faculty, and staff who earned awards at ceremony.
Presidential Award: Daniil Khludov
Residence Hall Student of the Year-Conestoga: Chelsea Gorman
Residence Hall Student of the Year-Pioneer: Sophia Agorakis
Resident Assistant of the Year-Conestoga: Corbin Koppenberg & Claudio Sebastian Escudero
Resident Assistant of the Year-Pioneer: Molly Tamirat
Highest GPA-Sophomore Female Athlete: Melisa Kadic
Highest GPA-Sophomore Male Athlete: Andre Matzuda
Highest GPA-Athletic Team: Women's Softball Team
Outstanding Student Ambassadors: Joise Maldonado & Daniil Khludov
Outstanding Graduating Theatre Major Award: Pasiensia Amador-Marez
Outstanding Returning Theatre Major Award: Daniela Lopez
Performing Arts Awards-Instrumental Music: Christopher Armstrong & Clara Brown
Performing Arts Award-Vocal Music: Cynthia Clark
Supplemental Instruction Leader of the Year: Isaac Sam
TRIO Touchstone Award-Faculty: Dr. Royce Ammon
TRIO Touchstone Award-Student: Gabriela Valverde
Staying on Course Award: Marlene Cardona
CollegeNOW! Early Start Award: Baylee Bewley, Ariana Garrett, Brianna Little, Peyton Stanczyk, and Raphael Rios
ADN (Associate Degree Nursing) Health Occupations Award: Stormie Hayward
PN (Practical Nursing) Student of the Year: Tess King
Division of Language & Arts Award: Krittika Mahasing
Division of Mathematics Award: Martin Roub & Tim Kampsnider
Division of Science Award: Anna Peterson
Division of Human Performance Award: Eva Langton
Division of Social Sciences Award: Logan Belford & Sabrina Luttig
All-Nebraska Academic Team: Jerimiah Marchington, Natalie Saenz, and Andre Matzuda
Outstanding Kappan of the Year: Natalie Saenz
Phi Theta Kappa Award for Excellence in Teaching: Dr. Royce Ammon & Mr. Scott Winters
Student Government Super Cougar Award: Chelsea Gorman
Fostering Community Award: Grace Hendrickson, Jennifer Sibal, and Megan Wescoat
Cougar Award: Gianclaudio Bova
Vice President of Administrative Services Non-Tradition Student of the Year: Ivy Seelhoff
Business and Community Education Student of the Year: Brian Baker
Dean of Students Organization of the Year: Criminal Justice Club
Vice President of Student Services Outstanding Student Leader of the Year: Claudio Sebastian Escudero
Executive Vice President of Educational Services: Jerimiah Marchington
Board of Governors Award: Corbin Kloppenberg
**Note: To request photos of individual award winners, please email Kyle Cummings at